Smartphones

One day last month it occurred to me that as I’d got broadband in my digs, carrying my Lumia 530 with me to work every day was silly, as I was only using it during the time as a substitute watch. For which my considerably smaller old Nokia 1200 is more suitable.

I then thought some more and concluded this didn’t apply only for workdays. So that now I mostly use my ‘smartphone’ (admittedly, it was never all that smart anyway) as a better sort of a landline: one with an alarm clock which can do messaging as well. I only take it out with me if I expect some particular call, and that doesn’t happen every week.

I know I’m – once again – swimming against the tide without wishing to. I know that according to Ofcom1, Scotland became “a smartphone society” in which these devices overtook laptops as “the most important for internet access” (this was indirectly borne out by an HIE study2, according to which young people in the area view mobile connectivity as more important than broadband).

Still, I’m – once again – unwilling to do something I find (in comparison) inconvenient just because it’s society’s general trend.
 

[1] Ofcom: The Communications Market Report: Scotland : Scotland becomes “a smartphone society”
“About four in ten (37%) internet users cite smartphones as the most important device for accessing the internet compared to 26% for their laptop. […] Half of internet users aged 16-34 (50%) and more than four in ten (45%) aged 35-54 say a smartphone is the most important device for going online.”
[2] HIE: Young People and the Highlands and Islands: Attitudes and Aspirations Research : Attitudes and Aspirations survey – final report
“Mobile coverage is now more important than NGA broadband, with 51% saying improved mobile connectivity is very important (ranked 7th) to make H&I more attractive, compared to 48% stating it is very important for NGA (ranked joint 10th).” (p 101)
“Overall, mobile connectivity is cited as the 7th most important factor in making the H&I a more attractive place to live, higher than NGA broadband, rated 11th.” (p 113)

Leave a Reply

