Czech clerks . . .

Amongst other things, I had to register again at a health insurance company and get an insured’s card. I filled in the form about the change of address, and as their card-producing machine didn’t work at the moment, agreed they would call me of e-mail me once it was ready for me to pick up.

I don’t mind they never called or texted but sent it by post instead. I don’t mind they sent it to the old address, not to the new one. What I do mind is that the clerk tried to put the blame for the mess they had made of it on me. She was not offensive or abusive. But she did have the usual Czech approach of “it is always the customer, never the clerk, who has erred”.

It will take a while before I get fully accustomed to the fact that I am back from the civilised world in a country which has first been for centuries a part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, then for decades a part of the Soviet one.

 

Leave a Reply

