JCP

That is, Jobcentre Plus. After three years here, this isn’t the first time I’m unemployed, but it is the first time I’ve signed on. Hopefully this will help me to tide over a period which will hopefully be short. The people I dealt with were supportive, but I know that I’ll have to find a new job myself and that their money won’t keep me going for long.

But an interesting thing happened. The JCP sent me a letter informing me that if I continue claiming, after six months they would “determine whether I have a right to reside”, citing The Immigration (EEA) Regulations 2006 as amended in 2013. Now Mr Cameron recently famously promised a new law to the effect that “if an EU jobseeker has not found work within six months, they will be required to leave”.

Does this mean that he intends to introduce a law which already exists?

 

Leave a Reply

