The end of a ‘dream job’

Nothing is ever perfect, of course; sometimes it was quite exhausting, with hardly any spare time at all. Still, there were some absolutely outstanding times like the Dumfries stint or the four Argyll weeks; the money was good as well; and last but not least, for the first time I was surrounded mostly by Scots, rather than other immigrants. With the obvious positive effect on my ability to understand spoken Scottish English – and possibly also on my knowledge of the Scottish way of life and the Scottish psyche.

I wouldn’t mind if my next job was somewhat less hectic, but I wonder how long it will take before I find another in which I’ll often be the foreigner in the team again.

 

Leave a Reply

