Daffodils in January?

After midday the cloudy skies cleared, the sun shone out, and having intended to visit Ruchill Park anyway, there was nothing to stop me.

Approaching the path to the hillock I saw somebody climbing it. As I don’t like being joined there by strangers when I’m atop myself, I took the path along its foot instead.

And there I saw them. Two flowers already in blossom. Yes, they were at the usual place where the first ones bloom each year. But… Last year they only came in April, making me check that they really were late: the year before that I had noticed the first ones on 4 March.

And I know we have global warming and so on.

But 19 January? This is uncanny.

 

Leave a Reply

