Quotes: June – August 2013

‘Unfortunately, like a good many other intellectual men, he’s a fool.’
(Father Brown in Gilbert Keith Chesterton: The Scandal of Father Brown)

 

Father Brown was delighted to hear the voice of his old friend, even on the telephone.
(The Scandal of Father Brown)

 

It was that smile which suddenly revealed to Father Brown that the young man was really miserable. So long as he frowned, it might well have been only sulks; but when he smiled it was somehow a more real revelation of sorrow.
(The Scandal of Father Brown)

 

I closed the manual.
‘I wonder if I’ve got any of the 374 mental disorders?’ I thought.
I opened the manual again.
And I instantly diagnosed myself with twelve different ones.
(Jon Ronson: The Psychopath Test)

 

‘But surely stock-market psychopaths can’t be as bad as serial-killer psychopaths,’ I said.
‘Serial killers ruin families,’ shrugged Bob. ‘Corporate and political and religious psychopaths ruin economies. They ruin societies.’
(Jon Ronson & Robert D. Hare in The Psychopath Test)

 

It is founded on a sort of modern fashionable fallacy, compounded of sentimentalism and optimism, to the effect that a man who is rather bitter about this world cannot have any ideals; whereas the bitterness does sometimes come from the intensity of his ideals.
(Gilbert Keith Chesterton: Robert Louis Stevenson)

 

I [….] felt a cold, sick feeling coiling in my belly. I was running out of excuses for doing nothing.
(Prentice McHoan in Iain Banks: The Crow Road)

 

Leave a Reply

