GP

When I came to Scotland I made a list of things I needed to do to feel like a resident, whatever the legalities of the term. To get a national insurance number, UK mobile number, bank account, find a dentist, be registered as a voter and so forth. The last remaining item on the list was getting registered at a GP, and today I eventually accomplished even that. (A pleasant lady who said “Oh my grace” at least twice when I mentioned things like my childhood meningitis.) The last step was done.

All right, I still have to receive my CHI, but there’s nothing I can do about that but wait, and I still don’t have an optician, but that can wait until next year, I’m still quite fine with the specs I have. The really important items are all ticked off. I’m finally here.

 

Leave a Reply

