Litrichean beaga

A few weeks ago it occurred to me that I had bought a smartphone and might, theoretically at least, listen to the podcasts when commuting. I downloaded the oldest one on offer (LB 206), tried it – and despite my misgivings, I did understand most of what was said without having a transcript to hand.

Ay, I have heard it before – but that was three years ago, and even though my subconscious remembered the general gist, it naturally didn’t remember the particular words and phrases used. It even seemed the speech was a bit unnecessarily slow for me.

I may be making progress in understanding spoken word so slowly that I hardly notice it, but apparently I am making it. Encouraging discovery.

 

Leave a Reply

