1, 2, 3 . . . 4 years online

So, what was my fourth online year like? Considering that I did contrive to fulfill the Dunkeld Vow, there was no “dramatic” change. Ay, I discontinued my website, moved to Blogger and after a short romance with Tumblr here. (Where I hope to stay. After all, my website used WordPress as well.) At the end of the day, what matters most is the words you write, not the address where you post them. I still indulge from time to time in bouts of Wiki-editing. My social life, what little there is of it, goes on being conducted almost exclusively over the Net. Overall, I still spend more of my spare time online than offline.

That said, things did change to some extent. Since my arrival in this country I like to call “mine”, I every now and then spend my spare time outdoors instead of at my laptop, and I do enjoy it. I don’t hurry back from work just in order to be able to check my watchlists and suchlike asap. I still find less time for books than I would like to; yet I can sometimes begin or finish the day by reading one without the feeling that I may be missing on something by having my laptop switched off.

All in all it seems that I was not as addicted as I feared I might have been. Apparently the Net remains a means, however near-essential, rather than the purpose. As long as that stays true, I think I’m fine.

 

Leave a Reply

