Riverside Museum

One of the first things I noted down to my list of things to see in Glasgow – and yet over a million people beat me to it, even though it only opened last summer.

Overall impression: good, but not amazing. Certainly worth visiting once, if only for some particularities. In my case for example the Maryhill tram (did trams really go up Maryhill Road once?); the longship model (hadn’t known the rudder used to be positioned like that); the locomotive set (for lack of space elsewhere?) on the first floor; Kelvin Street or the “Gaelic” fire engine. (On the spur of the moment I also realized that I had never entered a red telephone box, so I did now.) Still, I doubt I’ll visit again. I had a pleasant afternoon, but there was nothing to draw me back.

The tall ship was a bit disappointing too – I knew it wasn’t as large as RMS Queen Elizabeth 2, but I did expect it to be somewhat larger. On the other hand, the yards did look rather massive, considering they were probably from a single tree  each, and the cordage was even more confusing than on a picture. I’ve no idea how the sailors could tell one rope from the next…

 

Leave a Reply

