St Mungo Museum

…or, to give it its full name, St Mungo Museum of Religious Life and Art, is the latest museum I visited here. If the truth be told, I’ve been quite interested in philosophy throughout my life, so I didn’t learn much new here, except perhaps that Sikhism is far more widespread than I had thought it to be.

Still, I spent there a pleasant couple of hours, and there were two particular things making the visit doubtlessly worthwhile for me. One, finding out that prior to the Reformation there were two towers at the western end of the Glasgow Cathedral.

And it was somehow refreshing to see, for once, multilingual boards not in English and German/French/Spanish, but in English and Gaelic – and what I suppose to be Arabic, Chinese and Hindi.

 

Leave a Reply

