A strangest kind of a tap

Needless to say, I generally prefer British alternatives to Czechoslovak ones. From the most important, “big” matters, like the ways (all) the languages sound, to details like which way the words are printed on the spine of a book.

Occasionally I found the Czechoslovak way the better of the two. Like using mixer-taps instead of one tap for cold water and one for hot. As far as I can tell, mixer-taps are already prevalent even here, but you still see the two-tap variation every now and then. In the 21st century I suspect this might be, in public places at least, an ingenious scheme of making people use less water.

But something completely beyond my comprehension is one of the taps in my current flat’s kitchen. At first sight it looks like a common mixer-tap. Only it isn’t, because it doesn’t mix. At the outlet, the hot and cold water are still separated. And chosen the right strength of flows…

I mean, what’s the point? It can’t be easier or cheaper to produce, it’s less convenient for the user – is there something I’m missing perhaps?

 

Leave a Reply

