Quote: John Steinbeck: East of Eden

“Please try not to need me. That’s the worst bait of all to a lonely man.”

This happens after Lee, the servant, concludes that Adam is at last interested in taking care of his household himself. He asks Adam to let him go and open a bookshop, a long-cherished dream of his. Adam agrees, but asks Lee to stay for a while yet until he gets a better grip of things.

“You wouldn’t lay a trap for me?” Lee asked. “My wish isn’t as strong as it once was. I’m afraid I could be talked out of it or, what would be worse, I could be held back just by being needed. Please try not to need me. That’s the worst bait of all to a lonely man.”

Recently I’m finding myself quite often helping Rob instead of making use of the time I have thanks to my being unemployed for my own affairs. Not that I can help it. He’s the best friend I have here and I wouldn’t dream about letting him down, not to mention that of course I enjoy helping him.

 

Leave a Reply

