Graeme Obree came out

At the age of 45 and over 1½ decades after taking twice the world hour record for bicycles, Graeme Obree discovered to the Scottish Sun he was gay and his suicide attempts had been linked to his sexual orientation, having grown up in a quite homophobic environment.
PinkNews: Cycling champion Graeme Obree says he’s gay
This is somewhat scary. I mean, uninterested as I am in top-rate sport, I probably only noticed he existed as somebody gave a newspaper clipping back then, in which the author maintained it was only natural that somebody breaking records on a home-made bike, rather than one from the most famous (and expensive) manufacturers must needs get frequently disqualified, so as not to have an adverse effect on said companies’ profits. I forgot all about him since. Last week I incidentally came across the clipping – before I started reading I couldn’t even remember who this Obree was. And then, a day or two later, he appears in PinkNews, coming out as gay.

Sometimes I really wonder whether there’s somebody carrying out psychological testing on me.

 

Leave a Reply

