Quote: John Steinbeck: Cannery Row

It’s all right not to believe in luck and omens. Nobody believes in them. But it doesn’t do any good to take chances with them and no one takes chances.

I’m putting this here partly because I’ve recently read the book, one of my Steinbeck favourites, for the first time in the original, and partly because by sheer incident I came across the verb ‘jinx’ today – one I almost lost all hope existed. I’m not superstitious and no superstition influences my behaviour so much and so often as the fear of jinxing something.

 

Leave a Reply

