Afternoon shift again… good!

I’ve worked divers systems of working hours in my life, including one so complicated that I only had the same shift on the same day of the week after 28 days. In fact, there are only a few I know to be used here that I never experienced first-hand. The one system I always dreaded most was the most common one: the same hours from Monday to Friday, week after week, month after month, year after year…

And yet that was exactly what I voluntarily landed myself in in the spring. It was the price I had to pay for not having to swap machines each month and getting to the one I preferred. Working the MPF is more interesting, there being shorter runs. Likewise, there usually few enough to make me able to meet the deadlines by myself, which is both good and bad. Good because like that it’s ‘my’ machine (it’s similar to the difference between using a company car by yourself or taking it in turns with somebody else); bad because they want me present in the mornings. I’m a night owl, not a good riser.

The way I see it I chose the lesser evil. And thanks to an upredicted development which would be hard to explain without a detailed description of the firm’s internal politics, I’m in for three, maybe four afternoon shifts starting tomorrow. Once again experiencing what it is not to have to get up at an unearthly hour on a weekday, mmmm….

 

Leave a Reply

