Thrifty, not miserly

Some days, I can hardly think of anything to write in my diary before going to sleep except for eg “ordinary workday”. At best perhaps expanding a bit on what that currently means. On other days, there are so many things worth blogging about that all I have time to do is briefly enumerating them. Today was closer to the latter sort.

I’ve stated before that as a result of my summer trip I had to become more thrifty, but by no means miserly. I stopped buying two or three books and a CD or two each month at Amazon, but hadn’t decided to not buy anything there until autumn. Consequently, when Mike Perham’s book about his round-the-world voyage got published, I ordered it within a week. (And a CD and two other books, while I was at it. One of them The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy which it seems everybody knows but me.) Today the parcel arrived and frankly, I’m rather curious, because I’ve no idea what’s the book going to be like. I skimmed it quickly through and luckily it doesn’t look like he just pasted together the blogs he was writing while sailing. Most of all I wonder whether it will do what I initially wanted those blogs to do, before finding out I didn’t have time to read more than the most important ones over weekends. That is to say, to slightly enlighten the landward guy that I am about the vocabulary and technology of sailing.

But even before fetching the parcel from the post office I bought a digital camera. This of course cost much more; on the other hand it was one of the items I was taking into account when restructuring my budget after having ordered the trip. Anyway, I won’t go into detail about it until I explore how it works and what it can do. So far I’m trying to come to terms with the fact that it’s apparently being able to record video and sound in addition to still images. I didn’t know these things were this advanced…

 

Leave a Reply

