My music

Some time ago it occurred to me that I’ve got a LibraryThing account which lists all the books I possess (I must have read hundreds more) but nothing similar for the cassettes and CDs I own. In fact, so far there aren’t too many, as I stopped buying the former as far back as the nineties and only began buying the latter this last year. All the more reason to make the list now. Another couple of years and I might be too lazy to make it at all. Here goes then:

Cassettes, alphabetically (self-made compilations and things I have on CDs as well not included):

Amazing Grace (Mackenzie’s Pipes and Drums)
Beatles: Help!
Let It Be
Magical Mystery Tour
Revolver
Rubber Soul
Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts’ Club Band
Levellers: Zeitgeist
Pogues: Hell’s Ditch
Peace and Love
Rum, Sodomy and the Lash
Waiting for Herb
Paul Simon: Graceland
Teach Yourself Gaelic (for the Robertson & Taylor book)

CDs, in chronological order:

Obtained as gifts before I could play them at all (had a friend overrecord them onto a cassette for me):
Leonard Cohen: Greatest Hits (the ’75 one)
Capercaillie: Sidewaulk
Ravi Shankar: two ragas and Bangla Dhun

Bought when I could play them on notebook at least:
Waterboys: Room to Roam (my favourite of all times)
The Traveling Wilburys Collection
Beatles: Abbey Road
Pogues: Red Roses for Me

Bought when I already had the player:
Paul MacCartney: Ram
Runrig: Play Gaelic
Pogues: Pogue Mahone
Simon & Garfunkel: Bridge Over Troubled Water
Waterboys: Fisherman’s Blues
Bob Dylan: Hard Rain
Leonard Cohen: I’m Your Man
Beatles: White Album
Pogues: If I Should Fall from Grace with God
Doors: The Doors
Simon & Garfunkel: Bookends
Idlewild: The Remote Part
Glasvegas: Glasvegas
Franz Ferdinand: Franz Ferdinand
Paul Simon: Still Crazy After All These Years
Beatles: A Hard Day’s Night

Hmm… have I really bought this many within a single year? And Hats off to the Buskers and Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme are already on their way from the Amazon…

 

Leave a Reply

