Team sports heroes coming out

In October, Donal Óg Cusack came out; two months later it was Gareth Thomas. After which MaxClifford advised footballers to keep shush because of fans, but John Amaechi retorted it was the coaches, executives and club owners who were really to blame.
PinkNews: Irish sports star Dónal Óg Cusack reveals he’s gay
BBC: Irish sports star says he is gay
BBC: Ex-Lion Gareth Thomas reveals he is gay
PinkNews: Welsh rugby star Gareth Thomas reveals he’s gay
PinkNews: PR advisor Max Clifford repeats warnings over ‘vicious’ homophobic football fans
PinkNews: Gay basketball hero says clubs, not fans, are to blame for homophobia in sport
John Amaechi’s blog: Gareth Thomas – and the gay in sports/gays in society discussion
There are several sentences to which I could subscribe with all my heart.
Cusack:
That’s the way I am. I live with it and I am fine with it.
Thomas:
I thought I could suppress it, keep it locked away in some dark corner of myself, but I couldn’t. It was who I was, and I just couldn’t ignore it any more.
Just because you are gay, it doesn’t mean you fancy every man who walks the planet.
I’d love for it, in 10 years’ time, not to even be an issue in sport, and for people to say: ‘So what?’
Amaechi:
It is because of the certainty of heterosexuality that so many straight men in sports, armed services, fraternities and stag parties can behave… well, so gay.

Incidentally, there is a (tragi?)comic strip related to the last one, even though it comes from a straight context.

 

Leave a Reply

